this is the else
Finance meets art – swisspartners – The art of finance

Finance meets art

MARKUS WINTSCH, CEO OF THE SWISSPARTNERS GROUP, AND SIMONE TÖLLNER, HEAD MARKETING, EXCHANGE IDEAS WITH GALLERY OWNERS CLAUDIUS OCHSNER AND DANIEL WAHRENBERGER FROM THE GALLERY WOS ON THEIR LOVE OF ART AND ON THE IMPORTANCE OF ART AND CREATIVITY AT SWISSPARTNERS.
The discussion was moderated by Kathrin Meister.

Art has always featured large at swisspartners. The swisspartners slogan, “The Art of Finance”, was created in 2016. How did this strong affinity to art come about?

Markus Wintsch: Art plays a central role at swisspartners and has done for the past 29 years. The founding partners, as well as the partners who joined through to the end of the 1990s, are all art lovers. They all share close connections with art. And the same partners have a long track record of erving clients who also have an affinity to art.

In some cases, partners have brought their own private artworks into the office. Building on this, we have gradually expanded our art collection in collaboration with various art dealers. When selecting works for this purpose, we have always insisted on them having a connection to the world of finance. We have also commissioned painters to create works of art exclusively for swisspartners. One picture, for example, embodies the swisspartners values.

Our affinity to art is also expressed in our slogan, “The art of finance”. This was created during the last makeover of our corporate identity. Today, it is an integral part of our corporate design. It is a highly versatile slogan that we mix and match in a variety of ways. In the case of Partners’ View, for instance, we have picked “The art of reading”.

“Our affinity to art is also expressed in our slogan, ‘The art of finance’.“
Markus Wintsch

What role does art play in your clients’ asset portfolios?

Markus Wintsch: Just like real estate or collectible cars, art has long been firmly established as an asset class in the investment portfolios of wealthy private clients. Many clients of swisspartners have been collecting art for decades. This is something we frequently only learn about when we visit them in their own homes. In their home surroundings, we are not only able to gain a better picture of our clients and their families, but also get to see how they live and what is important to them. Art often plays a prominent role here.

“I see my role as an opportunity to combine the fields of art and marketing.”
Simone Töllner

The partnership between the Gallery WOS and swisspartners goes back a long way. How did it come about?

Claudius Ochsner: Through my former gallery Barr & Ochsner, I have been in close contact with Ralph Schuler ever since early 2000. Our collaboration took on a more concrete form when Simone Töllner came in.

Simone Töllner: Art in our organisation is a subject that is very close to my heart. Shortly after I joined swisspartners in July 2019, I met with the three owners of the Gallery WOS to set up a working partnership. This covers, on the one hand, the swisspartners art events and, on the other, support for our in-house art exhibitions. We enjoy a great degree of freedom and trust on the part of swisspartners’ management in advancing our art projects. This has naturally added to the success of our partnership to date. Thanks to art, we are able to bring new creative flair to our office premises and to inspire our clients at art events.

What do the three letters WOS stand for and how are you specialised?

Daniel Wahrenberger: The letters stand for the gallery’s three owners, Wahrenberger, Ochsner and Schafflützel. Its ‘predecessor’ galleries, Barr & Ochsner and Wahrenberger, boast over 50 years of combined experience in the art market. Back then, Thomas Schafflützel helped out in my gallery. At a meeting with Claudius Ochsner, we came up with the idea of presenting a combined booth at the next art fair. Shortly after that, Thomas Schafflützel moved to Barr & Ochsner. We then launched our joint gallery, the Gallery WOS, in September 2019. You can find us in Zurich’s beautiful Kirchgasse, where we opened our premises in mid-2020. We inaugurated another showroom in Pfäffikon this March.

Claudius Ochsner: Due to the merger of two galleries, we are naturally very broadly positioned. On the one hand, we represent the programme of the former Barr & Ochsner gallery: classical modernism with a focus on German expressionism, American pop art and European art of the 1940s and 1950s. Daniel Wahrenberger traditionally has a different approach to art: He primarily represents a small circle of contemporary artists with whom he maintains personal contact.

“Only together with his friends could someone like Picasso become a person who influenced generations of artists.”
Claudius Ochsner

Simone Töllner, you are head marketing at swisspartners and oversee the in-house art exhibitions and art events. Would you like to tell us something about your connection to creativity and art?

Simone Töllner: I was given the opportunity to join swisspartners as Head Marketing in 2019. My background is actually in the humanities: I studied art history, philosophy and German literature and followed up with a master’s in cultural studies and media conception in Zurich. After that, I qualified in marketing in part-time study. That makes me quite the odd one out in finance (laughs). Creativity is literally something I was born into, as my grandfather was a landscape painter of the classical Munich school at Munich Academy of Fine Arts. I spent my childhood between canvases and the smell of turpentine and linseed oil (painting materials – ed.). Before swisspartners, I worked for about 12 years in sales and marketing at several prestigious Swiss art galleries. As many of my former gallery clients were from finance, I was able to develop a high affinity for the finance sector during that time. I see my role at swisspartners as an opportunity to combine the fields of art and marketing. The working atmosphere in our organisation is characterised by individuality and creativity. That’s probably why I feel so at home here.

 

 

swisspartners is currently redesigning its Zurich office. Meanwhile, the Gallery WOS has opened a new showroom in Pfäffikon,Schwyz. How big a role do spaces play in unlocking creativity?

Markus Wintsch: Certainly a big one! The only thing I regret about the remodelling of our office premises is that art will probably have to take a back seat. But together with the Gallery WOS or our artist friends, I’m confident that we will find a way to integrate art into our open-plan layout. We would like to continue to give our team the opportunity to identify themselves through art and to create a creative atmosphere of well-being in our premises.

Simone Töllner: At swisspartners, we had two different permanent exhibitions in the past, each with a completely different ambiance. We are also noticing how strongly our employees have identified with ‘our’ art over time. As already mentioned, works of art that hung in our corridors and offices for many years were sold because of the redesign – in some cases triggering strong emotions.

Markus Wintsch: Clients have frequently picked up on our artworks as a talking point over the last 29 years. Often enough, we spoke at greater length about the art in our premises than about the performance of their portfolios (laughs). Because our redesigned offices will have an open-plan layout, it’s going to be a challenge to hang art here. In future, we will make more flexible use of the space we have available for creativity and art – among other things with loans from the Gallery WOS. Accordingly, we are now in the process of selling a large part of our art collection.

Daniel Wahrenberger: Not long after opening our gallery in July 2020, we had to go into lockdown. One positive outcome of the pandemic has been that because people had to spend more time working from home, they wanted to make their home surroundings more attractive. It goes without saying that art is an important part of this. Art also plays a major role when it comes to receiving visitors, whether at home or in the office. As the saying goes, you never get a second chance to make a first impression.

What do you hope that the open-plan layout will do for the creativity of your work at swisspartners?

Markus Wintsch: My great wish is that after the pandemic, people will be happy to come back to the office to exchange ideas and maintain social contacts. All of that has suffered over the last two-and-a-half years. Getting people to return to work from the office isn’t at all easy. But the remodelling of our office premises is bound to motivate our team to come and work in a superbly designed office environment and finally meet colleagues again. After all, we spend around two-thirds of our waking hours at work. As part of the redesign, we hope to incorporate ideas that were previously unthinkable, such as living green walls. So as well as promoting art and creativity, we will also to an extent be bringing nature into the office.

“We would like to continue to give our team the opportunity to identify themselves through art.”
Markus Wintsch

On 5 may, the Gallery WOS opened a new exhibition, Picasso & Friends. The exhibition shines the light on Picasso’s work in connection with a circle of other outstanding artistic personalities. To what extent does the principle of “Individuality and Mutuality” also apply to the finance sector?

Markus Wintsch: As our client base gets younger, the more important the team approach to customer service becomes for us as a financial boutique. Today, flexible advisory approaches are needed from different people with different know-how, strengths and weaknesses. In the past, you could cover all bases with a one-man or one-woman show – one Picasso, if you will. But growing specialisation has massively changed the game over the last ten years. Nowadays, no one person can know everything, or provide all services. It always takes a strong team. In the Picasso & Friends exhibition, it is the ‘friends’ who are the team. At swisspartners, we not only need friends from within our own ranks, but also friends from outside the company.

Is our interpretation of the Picasso & Friends exhibition at the Gallery WOS accurate?

Claudius Ochsner: Picasso was, of course, an outstanding personality. Together with Georges Braques and Juan Gris, he founded Cubism. But if his circle of friends – other artists who were also productive at the time – had not taken up the movement, it would have remained a flash in the pan. Only together with his friends could someone like Picasso become a person who influenced generations of artists. In the other direction, his friends also influenced Picasso’s own work. He too took up elements from other artists and reinterpreted them. A good artist doesn’t live and work in isolation from the outside world. He or she goes out to see, hear, read and visit exhibitions. The result is either a poor impression of the collected elements – or something brilliant. In Picasso’s case, it was the latter.

“At some point, you embark on your own ‘art journey’, and that ends up resembling a tree that branches out in all sorts of directions, again and again.”
Daniel Wahrenberger

Which art movement or artist has shaped and inspired you most over the years?

Claudius Ochsner: Paul Cézanne never fails to fascinate me as an artist. He is one of the founders of modernism, redefined the artistic eye for detail, played with light and shadow, left unfinished works that as far as he was concerned were finished, and anticipated Cubism and abstraction. Without him, 20th century art would simply not have happened.

Daniel Wahrenberger: My background is in contemporary art, as you know, and I have always actively worked with artists and also coached them. After we merged our two galleries, for example, I discovered modernist cynicism for myself. Committing to a single art movement would definitely be too narrow. At some point, you embark on your own ‘art journey’, and that ends up resembling a tree that branches out in all sorts of directions, again and again. There is always something new to discover, but everything goes back to the same roots.

Simone Töllner: My roots without question are drawn from the old masters. At the same time, out there in the fringes, there are many artists that I admire very much. But the common thread that has followed me through my entire life is figurative art. I am fascinated by art that depicts, or that completely distorts reality. At home, I have lots of portraits and full-length works – I like to surround myself with people and faces. I live with my ‘friends’ on the canvases and am happy in their company.

Markus Wintsch: When collecting, I focus on modern art, which is atypical for the finance sector. An important factor for me is to know the artists personally. For example, I have acquired 50 artworks from one artist, because supporting the livelihood of this artist and his family is a project close to my heart. I also love large-format paintings and value harmonious colours. Art has to flow as part of the contextual environment – the frame, the surroundings and the people who live there.

Would you describe yourself as creative?

Daniel Wahrenberger: We are not short on creativity. The important thing is to channel it in an organised way. When you own a gallery and deal with different artists, art movements, projects, art fairs and so forth on a daily basis, creativity just flows of its own accord. It is important to find a common thread while staying open to new projects, such as with swisspartners.

Claudius Ochsner: Another facet of creativity is that we seek creative financing solutions for collectors who would like to buy something but do not have enough money at that moment.

Simone Töllner: Sure I’m creative, or I wouldn’t be where I am today. I might not create art as such in the way that an artist does, but I always try and find creative solutions.

Markus Wintsch: I like to bring my creativity to bear in the interior and exterior of investment properties – that’s my passion. Creativity is particularly needed in the property sector because buildings are often so monotonous. When it comes to the interior design of our offices, though, I’m happy to leave the creativity to Simone Töllner and Vanessa Burkart (Head Human Relations). They do a great job here on their own! I look forward to finally getting back together in person with the swisspartners team and harnessing our mutual inspiration in our redesigned premises.

“Art has to flow as part of the contextual environment – the frame, the surroundings and the people who live there.”
Markus Wintsch

More about the Gallery WOS:
galerie-wos.com/en

You might also be interested in:

ONE by swisspartners

Your Wealth at a Glance.

Read more

News

swisspartners new service: ESG Investments and sustainable investing

Further information

this is the else
Finance meets art - swisspartners – The art of finance

Finance meets art

Ein Gedankenaustausch zwischen Markus Wintsch, CEO der swisspartners Group, Simone Töllner, Head Marketing, sowie den Galeristen Claudius Ochsner und Daniel Wahrenberger von der Galerie WOS über ihre Liebe zur Kunst und die Bedeutung von Kunst & Kreativität bei swisspartners.
Das Gespräch moderierte Kathrin Meister.

Kunst hat seit jeher einen grossen Stellenwert bei swisspartners. Der Slogan „The Art of Finance“ wurde 2016 kreiert. Wie kommt es, dass swisspartners so kunstaffin ist?

Markus Wintsch: Kunst spielt bei swisspartners seit nunmehr 29 Jahren eine zentrale Rolle. Die Gründungspartner und die Partner, die bis Ende der 1990er Jahre ins Unternehmen eingestiegen sind, sind allesamt Kunstliebhaber. Sie alle verbindet eine enge Beziehung zur Kunst. Über diese Partner betreuen wir seit vielen Jahren natürlich auch kunstaffine KundInnen.

Teilweise haben die Partner ihre private Kunst in die Büro­räumlichkeiten mitgebracht. Darauf aufbauend haben wir in Kooperation mit verschiedenen Kunsthändlern sukzessive unsere Kunstsammlung erweitert. Bei der Auswahl der Wer­ke wurde stets Wert darauf gelegt, dass sie auch einen Bezug zur Finanzwelt hatten. Gleichzeitig haben wir KünstlerInnen damit beauftragt, Kunstwerke exklusiv für swisspartners zu malen. In einem Bild sind beispielsweise die swisspartners-Werte verewigt.

Unsere Kunstaffinität drückt sich auch in unserem Slogan „The art of finance“ aus. Er ist seinerzeit im Zuge eines sanften Remakes unseres Unternehmens­auftritts entstanden. Heute ist er fester Bestandteil unseres Corporate Designs. Der Slogan lässt sich sehr flexibel in den ver­schiedensten Kombinationen ein­setzen. Für den Partners‘ View zum Bei­spiel haben wir „The art of reading“ ge­wählt.

„Unsere Kunst­affinität drückt sich auch in unserem Slogan ,The art of finance‘ aus.“
Markus Wintsch

Welche Rolle spielt Kunst in den Vermögens­depots Ihrer KundInnen?

Markus Wintsch: Genauso wie Immobilien oder Auto­mobile ist Kunst heute eine feste Grösse in der Anlage­strategie eines vermögenden Privat­kunden.
Viele unserer KundInnen sammeln seit vielen Jahren Kunst. Oft erfahren wir davon erst, wenn wir bei ihnen zu Hause sind. In ihrem persönlichen Umfeld bekommen wir nicht nur ein besseres Gespür für sie und ihre Familien, sondern sehen auch, wie der oder die KundIn lebt und was ihm oder ihr wichtig ist. Kunst spielt dabei oft eine prägende Rolle.

„Meine Aufgaben sehe ich als Chance, die Bereiche Kunst und Marketing zu verbinden.“
Simone Töllner

Die Galerie WOS und swisspartners verbindet eine gewachsene Partnerschaft. Wie kam es dazu?

Claudius Ochsner: Mit meiner ehemaligen Galerie Barr & Ochsner pflege ich seit Anfang 2000 einen engen Kontakt zu Ralph Schuler von swisspartners Wealth Services. Konkreter wurde die Projektarbeit dann durch die Zu­sam­men­arbeit mit Simone Töllner.

Simone Töllner: Mir liegt das Thema Kunst im Unternehmen sehr am Herzen. Kurz nachdem ich im Juli 2019 zu swisspartners kam, habe ich mich mit den drei Galeristen der Galerie WOS getroffen, um eine Zu­sammen­arbeit aufzugleisen. Dazu gehören zum einen die swisspartners-Kunstevents, zum anderen die Unterstützung für unsere unternehmens­internen Kunstausstellungen. Unsere Kunstprojekte können wir mit viel Freiheit und Vertrauen seitens der Geschäfts­leitung angehen. Das hat den Erfolg unserer bisherigen Koope­ration natürlich begünstigt. Dank der Kunst haben wir unsere Räumlichkeiten mit neuem, kreativem Flair belebt und unseren Kundenkreis bei Kunstevents inspiriert.

Wofür stehen die drei Buchstaben WOS und worauf hat sich die Galerie spezialisiert?

Daniel Wahrenberger: Die Kürzel stehen für die drei Inhaber der Galerie: Wahrenberger, Ochsner und Schafflützel. Ihre „Vorgängerinnen“, die Galerie Barr & Ochsner und die Galerie Wahrenberger, haben zu­sammen mehr als 50 Jahre Erfahrung im Kunstmarkt. Thomas Schafflützel hatte seinerzeit in meiner Galerie ausgeholfen. Bei einem Treffen mit Claudius Ochsner kam uns die Idee, bei der nächsten Messe unsere Stände zusammenzulegen, um Synergieeffekte zu nutzen. Wenig später wechselte Thomas Schafflützel zur Galerie Barr & Ochsner. Im September 2019 gründeten wir dann unsere gemeinsame Galerie, die Galerie WOS. Seit Mitte 2020 finden Sie uns in der schönen Kirchgasse in Zürich. Und im März haben wir einen weiteren Showroom in Pfäffikon eröffnet.

Claudius Ochsner: Durch den Zusammenschluss zweier Galerien sind wir natur­gemäss sehr breit aufgestellt. Einerseits vertreten wir das Programm der ehemaligen Galerie Barr & Ochsner: klassische Moderne mit Fokus auf dem deutschen Expressionismus, amerikanische Pop Art und europäische Kunst der 1940er und 1950er Jahre. Daniel Wahrenberger hat traditionell einen anderen Approach zur Kunst: Er vertritt in erster Linie einen kleinen Kreis zeitgenössischer Künstler, zu denen er eine persönliche Beziehung pflegt.

„Nur gemeinsam mit seinen ,Friends‘ konnte Picasso zu einer Person werden, die Generationen von Künstlern beeinflusst hat.“
Claudius Ochsner

Frau Töllner, Sie sind Head Marketing bei swisspartners und betreuen gleichzeitig die internen Kunstausstellungen und Kunst-Events. Erzählen Sie uns etwas über Ihre Verbindung zu Kreativität und Kunst?

Simone Töllner: 2019 habe ich die Chance bekommen, die Position als Head Marketing bei swisspartners zu übernehmen. Mein Background sind die Geisteswissenschaften: Ich habe Kunstgeschichte, Philosophie und deutsche Literatur­wissenschaften studiert; zusätzlich habe ich in Zürich ein Studium der Kulturwissenschaften und Medienkonzeption absolviert und nebenberuflich eine Marketingausbildung obendrauf gesetzt. In der Finanzbranche bin ich also eine echte Exotin (lacht). Die Kreativität wurde mir buchstäblich in die Wiege gelegt, da mein Grossvater ein Landschaftsmaler der klassischen Münchner Schule an der Münchner Kunst­akademie war. Meine Kindheit fand zwischen Leinwänden und dem Geruch von Terpentin und Leinöl (Malmittel, A. d. R.) statt. Vor swisspartners habe ich rund 12 Jahre im Marketing und Verkauf bei mehreren renommierten Schweizer Kunst­galerien gearbeitet. Da viele meiner ehemaligen Galeriekunden aus dem Finanz­bereich stammten, konnte ich in dieser Zeit eine hohe Affinität zu dieser Branche ent­wickeln. Meine Aufgaben bei swisspartners sehe ich als Chance, die Bereiche Kunst und Marketing miteinander zu verbinden. Die Atmosphäre in unserem Unternehmen ist geprägt von Individualität und Kreativität – deshalb fühle ich mich hier wahrscheinlich auch so zu Hause.

 

 

swisspartners lässt aktuell seine Offices in Zürich architektonisch umgestalten. Und die Galerie WOS hat in Pfäffikon Schwyz einen neuen Showroom eröffnet. Welche Rolle spielen Räume für die Entfaltung von Kreativität?

Markus Wintsch: Sicherlich eine grosse! Das ist das Einzige, was ich an dem Umbau unserer Büroräume bedaure: dass die Kunst wahrscheinlich etwas kürzer­treten muss. Doch gemeinsam mit der Galerie WOS oder befreundeten KünstlerInnen wird es uns sicher gelingen, auch in den
offenen Räumlichkeiten Kunst zu integrieren. Wir möchten unserem Team auch in Zukunft durch Kunst eine Identifika­tionsmöglichkeit geben und in unseren Räumlichkeiten ein kreativ geprägtes Wohlfühlklima zu schaffen.

Simone Töllner: Wir hatten bei swisspartners in der Vergangenheit zwei unterschiedliche Dauerausstellungen mit einer jeweils ganz anderen Raumwirkung. Ausserdem stellen wir gerade fest, wie stark sich unsere Mitarbeitenden im Laufe der Zeit mit „unserer“ Kunst identifiziert haben. Kunstwerke, die seit vielen Jahren in unseren Fluren und Büros hingen, sind wie schon erwähnt wegen des Umbaus verkauft worden – was teilweise starke Emotionen ausgelöst hat.

Markus Wintsch: In den letzten 29 Jahren sind wir immer wieder von KundInnen auf unsere Kunstwerke angesprochen worden. Oft spielte das Thema Kunst in unseren Räumen eine grössere Rolle als die Anlage­resultate der Depots (lacht). Weil unser neues Raum­konzept nur noch wenige Wände vorsieht, wird es eine Herausforderung, dort Kunst zu hängen. Den Platz, den wir für Kreativität und Kunst zur Verfügung haben, werden wir in Zukunft flexibler nutzen – zum Beispiel mit Leihgaben der Galerie WOS. Vor diesem Hintergrund sind wir gerade dabei, einen Grossteil unserer Kunstsammlung zu verkaufen.

Daniel Wahrenberger: Kurz nach der Eröffnung unserer Galerie im Juli 2020 mussten wir in den Lockdown gehen. Eine positive Entwicklung der Pandemie: Weil die Leute mehr Zeit im Homeoffice verbracht haben, wollten sie ihre Räumlichkeiten schöner gestalten. Dabei spielt Kunst natürlich eine grosse Rolle. Auch für die Empfangssituation – egal ob Privathaus oder Büro – prägt Kunst den ersten Eindruck, ganz nach dem Motto „You never get a second chance to make a first impression“.

Was erhoffen Sie sich von dem offenen Raumkonzept für die Kreativität der Arbeit bei swisspartners?

Markus Wintsch: Mein grosser Wunsch ist, dass die Leute nach dieser Pandemie wieder gerne ins Office kommen, um sich dort miteinander auszutauschen und soziale Kontakte zu pflegen. Das alles hat in den vergangenen 2,5 Jahren massiv gelitten. Es ist gar nicht leicht, nun die Leute wieder zurück ins Büro zu bekommen. Die Umgestaltung unserer Büroräume wird unser Team sicher motivieren, zum Arbeiten in ein toll gestaltetes Office zu kommen und dort endlich wieder Kolleg­Innen zu treffen. Schliesslich verbringen wir rund zwei Drittel unserer wachen Zeit am Arbeitsplatz. Wir werden bei der Umgestaltung auch Ideen einfliessen lassen, die bis dato undenkbar waren, zum Beispiel begrünte Wände. So fördern wir nicht nur Kunst und Kreativität, sondern holen uns auch ein Stück Natur ins Büro.

„Wir möchten unserem Team auch in Zukunft eine Identifikations­möglichkeit durch Kunst geben.“
Markus Wintsch

Am 5. Mai ist die neue Ausstellung „Picasso & Friends“ bei der Galerie WOS gestartet. Sie beleuchtet das Schaffen Picassos in Verbindung mit einem Zirkel von anderen herausragenden Künstlerpersönlichkeiten. Inwieweit gilt das Prinzip von „Individualität und Gemeinsamkeiten“ auch in der Finanzbranche?

Markus Wintsch: Je jünger unsere KundInnen werden, desto wichtiger wird für uns als Finanzboutique der Team-Approach beim Kundenservice. Es braucht heute flexible Beratungsansätze von verschiedenen Menschen mit unterschiedlichem Know-how, Stärken und Schwächen. Früher konnte man mit einer „One-Man-Show“ bzw. „One-Woman-Show“ – also quasi einem Picasso – alles alleine stemmen. Doch durch die zunehmende Spezialisierung hat sich die Situation in den letzten zehn Jahren massiv verändert: Heute können Sie als Einzelperson nicht mehr alles wissen oder anbieten. Es braucht immer ein starkes Team. In der Ausstellung „Picasso & Friends“ sind die „Friends“ das Team. Wir bei swisspartners brauchen nicht nur „Friends“ aus den eigenen Reihen, sondern auch „Friends“ ausserhalb des Unternehmens.

Haben wir die Ausstellung „Picasso & Friends“ der Galerie WOS denn richtig interpretiert?

Claudius Ochsner: Picasso war natürlich eine herausragende Persönlich­keit. Zusammen mit Georges Braques und Juan Gris hat er den Kubismus begründet. Doch wenn sein Freundeskreis – also andere Künstler, die zu seiner Zeit ebenfalls künst­lerisch tätig waren – diese Bewegung nicht aufgenommen hätten, dann wäre sie eine Eintagsfliege geblieben. Nur gemeinsam mit seinen „Friends“ konnte jemand wie Picasso zu einer Person werden, die Generationen von Künstlern beeinflusst hat. Und gleichzeitig beeinflussten seine Freunde Picassos Werk: Auch er übernimmt Elemente von anderen Kunstschaffenden und reinterpretiert sie. Ein guter Künstler, eine gute Künstlerin lebt nicht abgeschottet von der Aussenwelt. Er oder sie geht hinaus, um zu sehen, zu hören, zu lesen und Ausstellungen zu besuchen. Im Ergebnis entsteht dann entweder ein „Abklatsch“ der gesammelten Eindrücke – oder eben etwas Geniales. Bei Picasso war es das Geniale.

„Irgendwo beginnt die eigene ,Kunstreise‘ – und dann gleicht sie einem Baum, der sich immer weiter verästelt.“
Daniel Wahrenberger

Welche Kunstrichtung bzw. welcher Künstler hat Sie im Laufe Ihres Lebens massgeblich inspiriert?

Claudius Ochsner: Paul Cézanne fasziniert mich als Künstler immer wieder aufs Neue. Er ist Mitbegründer der Moderne, hat den Blick für Details geprägt, hat mit Licht und Schatten gespielt, hat unvollendete Werke hinterlassen, die aus seiner Sicht vollendet waren, hat Kubismus und Abstraktion vorweggenommen. Ohne ihn gäbe es die Kunst des 20. Jahrhunderts nicht.

Daniel Wahrenberger: Ich komme ja aus der zeitgenössischen Kunst und habe immer aktiv mit den Künstlern zusammengearbeitet und sie auch gecoacht. Nach dem Zusammenschluss der Galerien habe ich zum Beispiel den Zynismus der Moderne für mich entdeckt. Sich auf eine einzige Kunstrichtung festzulegen, wäre sicherlich zu eng gefasst. Irgendwo beginnt die eigene „,Kunstreise“ – und dann gleicht sie einem Baum, der sich immer weiter verästelt. Man lernt ständig Neues kennen – doch der Stamm bleibt immer derselbe.

Simone Töllner: Mein „Stamm“ ist ganz klar die alt­meisterliche Schule. Gleichzeitig gibt es auch in den „,Verästelungen“ viele KünstlerInnen, die ich sehr schätze. Mein roter Faden ist jedoch die figurative Kunst; sie hat mich mein Leben lang begleitet. Kunst, die Wirklichkeit abbildet, vielleicht auch ganz verfremdet, fasziniert mich. Bei mir zu Hause findet man viele Portraits und Ganzkörperdarstellungen – ich umgebe mich gerne mit Menschen, mit Gesichtern. Ich lebe mit meinen „Freunden“ auf den Leinwänden und fühle mich wohl in ihrer Gesellschaft.

Markus Wintsch: Ich konzentriere mich beim Sammeln auf moderne Kunst, das ist für die Finanzbranche eher atypisch. Wichtig ist mir, dass ich die Künstler persönlich kenne. Ich besitze zum Beispiel allein 50 Werke von einem Künstler – weil es mein Herzensprojekt ist, diesen Künstler und seine Familie in ihrer Existenz zu unterstützen. Ausserdem liebe ich grossflächige Gemälde und lege Wert auf stimmige Farben. Kunst muss fliessen im Gesamtbild von Rahmen, Räumlichkeiten und den Menschen, die darin wohnen.

Würden Sie sich selbst als kreativ bezeichnen?

Daniel Wahrenberger: An Kreativität mangelt es uns nicht. Es geht eher darum, sie in geordnete Bahnen zu lenken. Wenn man eine Galerie hat und täglich mit verschiedenen Künstlern, Kunstrichtungen, Projekten, Messen usw. zu tun hat, dann sprudelt die Kreativität nur so. Wichtig ist es, einen roten Faden zu finden und gleichzeitig für neue Projekte offen zu sein, zum Beispiel mit swisspartners.

Claudius Ochsner: Ein anderer Aspekt von Kreativität ist, dass wir versuchen, für SammlerInnen, die gerne etwas kaufen würden, aber aktuell nicht genügend Geld haben, kreative Finanzierungslösungen zu finden.

Simone Töllner: Kreativ bin ich auf jeden Fall, sonst wäre ich nicht dort, wo ich heute bin. Ich erschaffe zwar selbst keine Kunst im engeren Sinne wie eine Künstlerin – aber ich strebe immer kreative Lösungen an.

Markus Wintsch: Ich bringe meine Kreativität gerne bei der Innen- und Aussengestaltung von Immobilien zum Ausdruck, das ist meine Passion. Gerade im oft monotonen Baubereich braucht es Kreativität. Was die innenarchitektonische Umgestaltung unserer Offices betrifft, überlasse ich die Kreativität jedoch gerne Simone Töllner und Vanessa Burkart (Head Human Relations). Sie machen das ganz hervorragend! Ich freue mich schon, wenn wir uns als swisspartners-Team endlich wieder persönlich in den neuen Räumlichkeiten begegnen und gegenseitig inspirieren können.

„Kunst muss fliessen im Gesamtbild von Rahmen, Räumlichkeiten und den Menschen, die darin wohnen.“
Markus Wintsch

MEHR ZUR GALERIE WOS:
galerie-wos.com/de

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren:

ONE by swisspartners

Your Wealth at a Glance.

Mehr erfahren

DAS SORGLOS-PAKET

Floaten statt sorgen.

Weiterlesen

News

swisspartners neuer Service:
Nachhaltig investieren mit ESG Investments

Mehr erfahren