Art Services – swisspartners – The art of finance

Art is important.

According to the Art Market Report 2019 from Art Basel, the global art market grew by 6% last year, reaching $67.4 billion. In the decade between 2008 and 2018, the total value increased by 9%[1]. 16% of HNW collectors spent more than $1 million on works of art from 2016 to 2018[2]. Collecting art is deeply personal and, for most collectors, is driven by passion and the goal of creating a legacy. It is also considered a tool for diversifying a client’s assets, as we learn in the 2019 market report. Previous reports have also noted that billionaires’ holdings of art average 0.5% of their net worth, which could extend to 10% or even more for some major and passionate collectors. [3]

As part of the broader swisspartners Art Team, swisspartners Marcuard Heritage focuses on individual HNW and UHNW collectors, supporting our clients throughout the entire process of collecting works of art. Our clients always benefit from our aim of working towards finding solutions for the collections, which are aligned with their overall asset strategy.

Our art management services include the following:

Structuring collections

Based on individual needs we work together with professional experts to establish the most appropriate asset holding structures for our clients, including the establishment and management of trusts, foundations, holding companies and other tools. We provide holistic solutions for estate and succession planning, as well as charitable purposes giving that addresses the specific issues related to art collections. We always recommend that clients take local advice in their respective home jurisdiction. On this basis we work together with lawyers and tax advisors to implement the most appropriate structure.

Collection management

Thanks to our in-house experts and broad network of internationally renowned specialists we coordinate advice for the client in deciding the appropriate strategy for managing the collection. We offer a range of essential professional collection management services, such as cataloguing, data management for our clients and arranging condition reports using state of the art technology. If required, we make arrangements for restorations. As part of the general inventory process we organize periodic valuations of the works. We also support our clients with the facilitation of financing opportunities.

Art handling, storage and logistics

Using our international network we evaluate recommendations for art insurance, art transport and arrange secure and optimal storage solutions for works of art. We also offer customs handling and VAT declarations as part of our logistics services. We co-ordinate and oversee comprehensive relocation projects involving works of art.

Acquisition and sales of works

As part of the sales and acquisition process we make sure that all relevant documentation is available for the works, offer provenance and art historical research and ensure that all transactions are compliant with the specific AML and KYC requirements. We provide pre-market information on prices and sales locations. In addition, we assist in finding the optimal financing solutions for art works.

For further information, please do not hesitate to contact us with your enquiries.

 

Geralda Kral, Partner
swisspartners Marcuard Heritage AG
geralda.kral@swisspartners.com

 

Caroline Bennett-Akkaya, Partner
swisspartners Marcuard Heritage AG
caroline.bennett@swisspartners.com

 

Réka Kovàts, Art Services Coordinator
swisspartners Marcuard Heritage AG
reka.kovats@swisspartners.com

 

[1] The Art Market 2019, Report by Claire Mc Andrew, Art Basel and UBS (p. 27)

[2] The Art Market 2019, Report by Claire Mc Andrew, Art Basel and UBS (p. 22), based on a survey of 600 individual HNW collectors.

[3] The Art Market 2019, Report by Claire Mc Andrew, Art Basel and UBS (p. 336)

Art Services – swisspartners – The art of finance

Kunst ist wichtig.

Gemäss dem Art Market Report 2019 der Art Basel wuchs der globale Kunstmarkt im letzten Jahr um 6% und erreichte ein Volumen von 67,4 Mrd. USD. In den zehn Jahren zwischen 2008 und 2018 stieg der Gesamtwert des Marktes um 9%[1]. 16% der sehr vermögenden Sammler gaben zwischen 2016 und 2018 mehr als 1 Mio. USD für Kunstwerke aus.[2] Das Sammeln von Kunst ist für die meisten Sammler eine sehr persönliche Leidenschaft mit dem Ziel, etwas Dauerhaftes zu hinterlassen. Wie der Marktbericht für das Jahr 2019 zeigt, wird es von Kunden aber auch als Möglichkeit betrachtet, ihr Vermögen zu diversifizieren. Frühere Berichte stellten zudem fest, dass Milliardäre im Durchschnitt 0,5% ihres Nettovermögens in Form von Kunstwerken halten – ein Anteil, der bei wichtigen, leidenschaftlichen Sammlern mehr als 10% ausmachen kann.[3]

Innerhalb des Art Teams von swisspartners konzentriert sich swisspartners Marcuard Heritage auf einzelne HNW- und UHNW-Sammler. Mit diesem Fokus können wir massgeschneiderte Lösungen schaffen und unsere Kunden bei ihrer Kunstsammlung in jeder Phase unterstützen. Wir zielen darauf ab, für die Kunstsammlungen unserer Kunden stets gute Lösungen zu finden, die auf deren umfassende Vermögensstrategie abgestimmt sind.

Wir bieten Dienstleistungen im Bereich Kunstmanagement mit folgenden Schwerpunkten an:

Rechtliche Strukturierung von Sammlungen

Anhand der individuellen Bedürfnisse jedes Kunden entwerfen, erstellen und verwalten wir themengerechte Lösungen für den Besitz von Kunstwerken, welche unter anderem auch die Gründung und Verwaltung von Trusts, Stiftungen, Gesellschaften und anderen passenden Instrumenten umfassen kann. Wir suchen zudem ganzheitliche Lösungen für die Nachlass- und Nachfolgeplanung sowie für Schenkungen an gemeinnützige Institutionen, die den besonderen Eigenschaften von Kunstsammlungen gerecht werden. Wir empfehlen dabei unseren Kunden, unbedingt professionelle Rechts- und Steuerberatung in ihrem Wohnsitzland einzuholen. Auf dieser Basis arbeiten wir gemeinsam mit lokalen Rechtsanwälten und Steuerberatern am Entwurf und der Umsetzung der passenden Holding-Struktur.

Verwaltung von Sammlungen

Unsere internen Experten koordinieren, gemeinsam mit unserem Netzwerk aus international anerkannten Spezialisten, die Beratung jedes Kunden mit Blick auf die bestmögliche Strategie für die Pflege seiner Kunstsammlung. Wir bieten ein breites Spektrum von Dienstleistungen für die professionelle Verwaltung von Sammlungen an, darunter die Katalogisierung und das Datenmanagement für unsere Kunden sowie die Erstellung von Zustandsberichten unter Einsatz modernster Technik. Sofern erforderlich, veranlassen wir zudem Restaurierungen von Kunstwerken. Im Rahmen einer allgemeinen Inventur organisieren wir die regelmässige Bewertung der Sammlung. Darüber hinaus unterstützen wir unsere Kunden bei der Suche nach geeigneten Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten.

Transport, Lagerung und Logistik von Kunstwerken

Gestützt auf unser internationales Netzwerk vermitteln wir unseren Kunden Versicherungslösungen für ihre Kunstwerke, beraten sie beim Kunsttransport und sorgen für eine sichere Aufbewahrung ihrer Kunstwerke unter optimalen Bedingungen. Als Bestandteil unserer Logistikdienstleistungen bieten wir zudem die Abwicklung von Zollformalitäten sowie Mehrwertsteuerabrechnungen an. Last but not least koordinieren und beaufsichtigen wir umfangreiche Umzugsprojekte von ganzen Sammlungen.

Erwerb und Verkauf von Kunstwerken

Im Rahmen des Kauf- und Verkaufsprozesses stellen wir sicher, dass die relevanten Dokumente für alle Kunstwerke vorliegen, bieten Provenienzrecherchen und kunsthistorische Untersuchungen an und gewährleisten, dass alle Transaktionen die geltenden AML- und KYC-Bestimmungen einhalten. Im Vorfeld von Markttransaktionen sammeln wir Informationen zu Preisen und Verkaufsstandorten. Zudem wählen wir nach einer umfassenden Analyse die besten Finanzierungslösungen für Kunstwerke aus.

Bei Fragen stehen wir Ihnen gerne zur Verfügung.

 

Geralda Kral, Partner
swisspartners Marcuard Heritage AG
geralda.kral@swisspartners.com

 

Caroline Bennett-Akkaya, Partner
swisspartners Marcuard Heritage AG
caroline.bennett@swisspartners.com

 

Réka Kovàts, Art Services Coordinator
swisspartners Marcuard Heritage AG
reka.kovats@swisspartners.com

 

 

[1] The Art Market 2019, Bericht von Claire McAndrew, Art Basel und UBS (S. 27)

[2]The Art Market 2019, Bericht von Claire McAndrew, Art Basel und UBS (S. 22), basierend auf einer Umfrage unter 600 HNW-Kunstsammlern.

[3] The Art Market 2019, Bericht von Claire McAndrew, Art Basel und UBS (S. 336)